Picture
An Early Fascination

I have been fascinated by conjoined twins since I was about twelve and first saw a picture of a pair of dicephalic parapagus twins (two heads, one body) in Life Magazine. This is the kind of early adolescent fascination that my friends claim not to have shared. Apparently they were interested in boys and music.

How could one not be interested? Conjoined twins challenge the most fundamental feature of human existence, the rule that says we get one mind per body. I confess, I lose all interest in conjoined twins when they are separated. It may be a medical miracle, but it’s so mundane.

As I work on the sequel to Dysphoria, I am finally able to give voice to my life-long interest. However, people seem to think this is a strange topic choice.

I silenced a whole dinner party when someone asked,

“What are you writing about?”

“Conjoined twins who get abducted by human traffickers,” I said.

It took several beats before someone said, “You seem so normal.”

Who wouldn’t want to write about conjoined twins? I am only surprised that this theme has not been explored more thoroughly. Ah well, I live to provide material on which beleaguered English graduate students can writer their theses.

“Everything you write should bring something new to the field of English literature,” my graduate adviser told her students.

Don’t worry, Dr. Patterson. I got this one!





Leave a Reply.

    Karelia Stetz-Waters

    Author of Crime Thrillers and Literary Fiction

    Archives

    No Archives

    Categories

    All